What you need to know about this year’s CFDA Fashion Awards

By Alejandra Hernandez

The CFDA Fashion Awards are back, taking place on November 10th at the Pool + The Grill within the Seagram Building on Park Avenue. The awards will return to an in-person format (yay!). Plus, there are many famous nominees and honorees on the list as well as emergent designers we are dying to know more of. The fashion industry is back, and we are loving it.

Let’s take a look to some of the details you need to know!

First of all, what does CFDA stands for?

We’ve got you. CFDA stands for The Council of Fashion Designers of America and it’s a not-for-profit trade association of America’s foremost fashion and accessory designers.

Who are all these new names nominated?

In the words of Steven Kolb, chief executive officer of the CFDA: ‘American fashion is experimenting a completely renewed energy, designers played a significant role in the future trajectory of our industry these past months (…) We are pleased to see several talented names among the nominees’.

Who’s name is listed for the first time?

Among the first-time nominees are Jerry Lorenzo for Fear Of God, Evdin Thompson for Theophilio, Eli Russell Linnetz for ERL, Jameel Mohammed for KHIRY, Kenneth Nicolson, and Maisi Schloss for Maisie Wilen.

Who’s Dapper Dan and why is the CFDA honoring him with the Geoffrey Beene lifetime achievement award?

Dapper Dan Harlem made his name in the late 80s and 90s as the tailor who provided rap culture with its signature gangster-inspired style. Athletes and musicians like LL Cool J and Floyd Mayweather were his clients.

He was also Gucci’s Tailoring campaign’s face in 2018 and his work was highlighted as part of the MOMA’s ‘Items: Is Fashion Modern?’ exhibit. He’s now the first designer without a fashion show to ever win the honor!

Who else is nominated that I may know?

Marc Jacobs, Gabriela Hearst, Thom Browne, Miuccia Prada and Raf Simons, Simon Porte Jacquemus, Daniel Lee, Rick Owens, Virgil Abloh, Dries Van Noten, to name a few.

Don’t forget to subscribe to our YouTube channel to learn the winners!